Praise The Pop Gods: Robyn and Royksopp Are Releasing A Mini-Album In May


Like a Christina Aguilera career retrospective, this day just keeps getting better.

Following the premiere of Lana Del Rey‘s hypnotic Ultraviolence lead single “West Coast” this morning, Queen of Sweden and Iconic Fembot Robyn has just announced a mini-album called Do It Again with Norwegian electro-pop princes, Röyksopp, due out on Dog Triumph via Wall of Sound and Cooking Vinyl on May 26.

And now, two #EXCITING quotes from the official tour website:

Röyksopp and Robyn are proud to announce the release of the ‘Do It Again’ mini album, which will be released on 26th May 2014.

“This doesn’t sound like Röyksopp featuring Robyn or Robyn produced by Röyksopp, it’s just something else entirely, the word ‘collaboration’ has never before been more justified in the world of music!” — Röyksopp

“I’ve been going back and forth to Bergen to record and write with the Röyksopp boys up until recently. It started to feel more like a band thing than songs for a Röyksopp or Robyn album so we´re releasing this music together as a band you could say” — Robyn

1. Monument
2. Sayit
3. Do It Again
4. Every Little Thing
5. Inside The Idle Hour Club


This, of course, isn’t the first time the two Scandi-titans have collaborated: Between Body Talk‘s “None Of Dem” and Junior‘s “The Girl And The Robot”, as well as their joint tours, the two have sonically complimented each other time and time again. Thus, the Do It Again — SEE WHAT THEY DID THERE?

You can now listen to a teaser of the first track on the mini-collection, “Monument” — and it sounds ENORMOUS already: “This will be my monument/This will be a beacon when I’m gone,” Robyn declares across the lush synth soundscape. What a statement piece!

And if that’s not enough to have you salivating, the song’s description should get you going even more: “A defining moment on the mini album in the shape of a near ten-minute long anthem, which was inspired by a sculpture from artist Juliana Cerqueira Leite, which gave Robyn a ‘physical experience of what it’s like to define yourself or stand for something or figure out who you are.'” TEN MINUTES LONG? Sounds utterly epic.

Actually, the entire description is gag-worthy. Via the press release:

‘Do It Again’ is the first single taken from the mini album and is an “accidental pop song” written after a night out together in Bergen. It is one of the most effervescent, effortlessly uplifting electro-pop tunes of recent years, and started life as a rave-inspired throwback. One of the first songs they started working on was ‘Every Little Thing’, the mini album’s tear-stained electro-ballad (key lyric; “baby, why you falter, when you know I’m waiting here”). Elsewhere, the ‘Do It Again’ mini album covers big thumping house in the shape of the club-ready ‘Sayit’, which features a near duet between Robyn and what sounds like an aroused robot. On the other end of the spectrum there is the closing ‘Inside The Idle Hour Club’, which utilises Robyn’s vocal discreetly to create a pensive, slowly evolving soundscape that’s worth diving headlong into.

And that’s not even all: “Do It Again” will be released as the first single on April 28, which will also lead a new Röyksopp album released later this year that features two of the tracks. (!!!)



“West Coast”: Lana Del Rey’s Psychedelic ‘Ultraviolence’ Evolution Begins

“West Coast”: Lana Del Rey’s Psychedelic ‘Ultraviolence’ Evolution Begins

It’s finally here, you little bitch

Cheryl Cole Flips Her Hair, Busts A Move And Remains Wholly Un-Flawed in L’Oreal Paris Feria Go Extreme Ad

Cheryl Cole Flips Her Hair, Busts A Move And Remains Wholly Un-Flawed in L’Oreal Paris Feria Go Extreme Ad


You May Also Like