Thank U, God.

Canadian Rock Goddess Alanis Morissette is finally returning after four years with her seventh studio album on August 28, entitled Havoc and Bright Lights.


Her seventh studio album, it is her first release in four years. Guy Sigsworth, who has worked with Morissette, Madonna and Britney Spears, and Joe Chiccarelli, who engineered recordings for Frank Zappa, the Shins and Grace Potter, produced. The first single, “Guardian,” will be available on iTunes on May 15, four days after it is shipped to radio.

Morissette is managed by the Collective, which started a label last year with former Warner Bros. executive Tom “Grover” Biery at the helm. Sony’s RED distributes Collective Sounds.

“This record, as always, is a snapshot of what I currently obsess about, care about, and what strikes me at 4 in the morning in my most introspective moments,” Morissette said in a statement. “It is my emotional, psychological, social and philosophical commentary through song.”

Sounds about par for the course.

2008’s Flavors of Entanglement was an incredible, underrated album (see my original review when I was just a BabyMuuse!), so I’m quite thrilled to hear Sigsworth is back on board for another record. From Imogen Heap to Britney–he does no wrong in my eyes, ever.

Full tracklisting below!

Havoc and Bright Lights will be released on August 28. (iTunes)

“Woman Down”
“‘Til You
“Win and Win”
“Edge of Evolution”

And here’s a favorite from the last album, “Versions of Violence.”