It’s been a minute since I last wrote about Kimberly Caldwell.

In case you’re less than familiar and/or new ’round these parts, Caldwell was the throaty seventh place runner-up of American Idol: Season 2. More importantly, she was (and remains) my favorite American Idol contestant, second only to the inimitable Kelly Clarkson.

Back in ‘the day’ (freshman year of high school to be exact), I was known as the one with her pictures of her plastered all over my binders Well, those that weren’t already covered in Britney and Utada pictures. When she got voted off, I cried and cried for days on end. Stunningly, it would still take two years for me to formally whip my hair out of the closet.

After seven years of waiting, Caldwell released her much anticipated debut single “Mess of You” last February, Caldwell announced plans to release her debut album, Without Regret, in April of 2010. I even got the chance to interview her! Then the album got pushed back to June, and then December, and now it’s apparently coming out in April of this year.

In the meantime, she’s back with a brand new beat: “Desperate Girls and Stupid Boys,” a hook-filled electro-pop rock anthem produced and penned by Tommy Henriksen, BC Jean and Zac Maloy.

Much in the same vein as Kelly Clarkson’s “I Do Not Hook Up” or P!nk‘s “Stupid Girls” and “U + Ur Hand,” Caldwell’s rowdy rock affair is a formal declaration of war against fuckery of all varieties: Boozers, users, losers, and all the other riffraff that threatens to ruin (or enhance?) your fun while you’re just trying to have a good time with your friends in the club. Worst!

So instead, why not join Kimberly in taking that party over and dancing until you die? Sounds about right to me!

“Desperate Girls and Stupid Boys” is without a doubt the most fun, radio-friendly cut Caldwell’s recorded to date–perhaps even catchy enough to garner some serious mainstream interest! Will she? Who knows.

At the very least, I’m still rooting for her…eight years and counting.

“Desperate Girls and Stupid Boys” was released on December 3. (iTunes)