Microfilm: Teenage Symphonies

My my, what have we here? Pop minimalism–that’s what!

M. Mercer and Matt Keppel are the bodies behind the force known as Microfilm. After relocating from Chicago to Portland, the group is releasing their sophomore album on Nov. 11, entitled Teenage Symphonies.

I’m slightly in love with Microfilm’s overall sound–It’s raw, yet maintains melodic moments of dance and trip-hop that elevate each track’s overall composition. Formulated with all of the flavors that make pop minimalism so delectable in the first place, Microfilm’s sound contains tiny droplets of all of my favorites: The throbbing intensity of Kaito, the melodic crafting of the Pet Shop Boys, the electro tingles of Télépopmusik, and occasional flarings of Royksopp‘s vocal techniques.” Beautiful work, especially considering this as a fully independent release.

Thanks to the band, we’ve got the title track of the album right here for download! This is a great one, similar to Royksopp’s “Poor Leno” off of their first album, Melody AM.

DL: Microfilm – Teenage Symphonies

Have a listen at the group’s MySpace here, or go to iTunes to buy their music!

Annie: 2 Of Hearts

Annie: 2 Of Hearts

When I first heard Annie was doing a Richard X-produced cover of “2 Of

Look On The Bright Side: Anastacia

Look On The Bright Side: Anastacia

Erm, well…At least you’ve hit number one in Slovenia!

You May Also Like