David Lynch, Sparklehorse, and Danger Mouse: Dark Night Of The Soul

If you hadn’t already heard, Danger Mouse has just put out a new record.

Well, not entirely: Danger Mouse has finished a collaborative album with Sparklehorse, aided by the photographic accompaniment of acclaimed director David Lynch and co-produced and co-written along with a gaggle of musical guests, including Iggy Pop, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Suzanne Vega, Nina Persson, and The Flaming Lips–and that’s only about a third of the star power wattage.

With the massiveness of this release (called Dark Night Of The Soul), it seems only too obvious then that a massive controversy should follow. According to the project’s main website, Danger House is in the midst of a dispute with EMI. As a result, the album is temporarily (permanently?) stalled.

Instead, Danger Mouse is releasing a limited edition, 100-page spread of Lynch’s photographs accompanying the release, along with a blank CD-R labeled “For legal reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will.” The album is currently hosted at various torrent websites, along with a full stream on NPR that has no set time of removal.

Sneaky devil, though it does entertain further thought regarding the age of digital downloads, pirating music, and the demise of the traditional industry. Who knows what will come of this? Click “Read More…” to see the full tracklist.

1. “Revenge” (featuring The Flaming Lips) – 4:52
2. “Just War” (featuring Gruff Rhys) – 3:44
3. “Jaykub” (featuring Jason Lytle) – 3:52
4. “Little Girl” (featuring Julian Casablancas) – 4:33
5. “Angel’s Harp” (featuring Black Francis) – 2:57
6. “Pain” (featuring Iggy Pop) – 2:49
7. “Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It)” (featuring David Lynch) – 3:10
8. “Everytime I’m With You” (featuring Jason Lytle) – 3:09
9. “Insane Lullaby” (featuring James Mercer) – 3:12
10. “Daddy’s Gone” (featuring Mark Linkous and Nina Persson) – 3:09
11. “The Man Who Played God” (featuring Suzanne Vega) – 3:09
12. “Grim Augury” (featuring Vic Chesnutt) – 2:32
13. “Dark Night of the Soul” (featuring David Lynch) – 4:38

Click here to purchase the limited edition book.
Click here to hear the album, streaming in full, at NPR.

A Night In Peaches: May 16 In NYC (Concert Review)

A Night In Peaches: May 16 In NYC (Concert Review)

Last night, I went to Webster Hall to go and receive the Teaches from the

Kleerup: Longing For Lullabies (UK Release)

Kleerup: Longing For Lullabies (UK Release)

Two weeks from today, June 1, will see the UK release of Kleerup‘s

You May Also Like