It’s been a full decade since Lena Katina and Yulia Volkova first joined forces as Russian pop sensation t.A.T.u., sparking controversy and outrage for their lolita looks, Sapphic lyricism and schoolgirl uniforms.

Now, to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the duo’s debut record, Cherrytree Records and Universal Russia are teaming up to issue a re-release of 2002’s 200 km/h In The Wrong Lane.

The album spawned several brooding, rock-tinged dance-pop classics, including “All The Things She Said,” “Not Gonna Get Us,” “30 Minutes” and their brilliant cover of The Smiths’ “How Soon Is Now?” and remains one of the best pop albums (and certainly one of my favorites!) from the past decade.

The re-release will include an unreleased track from the sessions (“A Simple Motion,” the long-awaited English version of the Russian “Prostye Dvizheniya” that’s never seen the light of day), a remix of “All The Things She Said” by Fernando Garibay, remastered tracks and all new artwork.

It’s a t.A.T.u. fan boy (or girl) dream come true.

And now, the full press release from Cherrytree:

October 2nd, 2012 – Los Angeles, California – In 2002, the unforgettable duo of Julia Volkova and Lena Katina – known to the entire world as t.A.T.u. – drove a dark-pop semi-truck through the musical landscape with their multi-platinum debut album “200 km/h in the Wrong Lane.” To commemorate the 10th year anniversary of this seminal pop album, Cherrytree Records and Universal Russia are issuing a special re-release of t.A.T.u’s “200 km/h in the Wrong Lane.” The album – which spawned the hits ‘All The Things She Said’ and ‘Not Gonna Get Us’ – was first released on December 10th, 2002.

t.A.T.u.’s irresistible first single, ‘All The Things She Said’ topped the charts around the globe and included a 4-week stint at number 1 in the UK. The album was produced by Trevor Horn (producer of Grace Jones, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Seal), Martin “Cherry Cherry Boom Boom” Kierszenbaum (Cherrytree Records label head and producer of Lady Gaga, Far East Movement, Natalia Kills) and Robert Orton (mixer for Jennifer Lopez, Carly Rae Jepsen, Lana del Rey).

Following the original release of “200km/h in the Wrong Lane,” t.A.T.u. became the first-ever eastern European group to achieve platinum status in any language. To this day, t.A.T.u. remain Russia’s most successful musical export with over 6 million units sold and their “200 km/h in the Wrong Lane” debut album is still cited by music journalists as one of the best pop albums.

The “10th Year Anniversary Gold Edition will feature all new artwork, a never-before-released song from the 2002 sessions, “A Simple Motion,” a brand new remix of “All The Things She Said” from producer Fernando Garibay (Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Shakira), special remix in addition to newly-mastered songs.

“200km/h in the Wrong Lane” – 10th Anniversary Edition will be released by Cherrytree Records/Universal Russia on November 12th, 2012.

Amazing, amazing, amazing news. And given what a major t.A.T.u. fan I am, you should probably keep your eyes peeled on MuuMuse for all the latest on the re-release.

Who knows? You might see some Excluusives coming ’round in the near future…

200 km/h In The Wrong Lane was released on December 10, 2002. (iTunes)